About heartache / we rarely talk

3 01 2020

Sometimes I still get that sinking feeling,
That dreaded whisper in the night,
Curving its way up my clavicles;
He holds me tight, fingertips pressing
Into my flesh
Sometimes I close my eyes and pray
That they reach my heart
And rip it out of my chest.

And for all I know,
My brother, he loves me so

And we have this rule, between him and I;
He doesn’t ask questions and I get to lie
About love and loss and previous journeys

He takes it in his stride. Never asks me
Who I’ve been for the last year or so
When I return to him, I’m always brand new
Like the moon to his starry night

Oh, my brother loves me right
And does so in a silent, ever present way,
Even though he knows that I can’t stay

I never do – he’s okay with that
Lets me roam, lets me thread
Through the tall grass as the moon
Sets the sky alight;
Brother, hold me tight,
For in this maze, I’m dreadfully lost…

Pale, cold, white as a ghost
Waiting for the tide to turn,
My magic to return
As the next moon rises

I’m not sick with sadness anymore
Quite sane these days, if I shall say
He finds me and plants a kiss on my cheek,
He says he loves me anyway
And as much as it touches my half-crescent heart
The next night I’m gone, I’m gone, I’m gone again;
Gone with the dark

JBV


Actions

Information

Leave a comment